I have a disability, but it does not have to define who I am, and all that I do in life.

25/08/2013 17:01

There are days when my RSD/CRPS wins the battle, and I can barely get out of bet, and definitely am unable to leave my home on those days. That does not mean that I give up and stop trying. What I cannot do today, I can do another day, and I will do almost anything to adapt my activities to be able to follow my interests.

 

I love taking photographs, but walking with a cane, and on my really bad days, barely able to get far even using the cane...I have found that many of my photos can be taken right from my car. It is not perfect, and there are times when I get out and walk a short distance to get to the right spot for a photo. I can do that, because I have conserved my energy for those ones, by taking many of my pics from the drivers seat of my car. My camera has 21 times zoom, so it works out well, most of the time.

 

Another big part of my life is working within the RSD/CRPS community; I created a few facebook RSD/CRPS support groups, and have added some of my fellow RSD/CRPSers as co-admin on some of the groups. Rhonda Perrett is my co-admin on our main support group, and on our family support group, I have both Lucie Kann and my mom, Louella Woods, helping out as co-admin.

Working on the support groups, and building this website, are ways that I can stay connected to others who are dealing with the same disease that I am, in a way that makes me feel like I am making a difference. I try to make every post count, make every comment supportive, and answer every question, to the best of my abilities. I am certainly not a doctor, just another RSD/CRPS patient, but I have had this since 1996; full body since 2005, and I feel that God has given me a chance to help others.